Poetry

Don’t miss Mandy Kahn at tomorrow’s A Rrose in a Prose REVIVAL!

Mandy Kahn is the author of two poetry collections, Glenn Gould’s Chair and Math, Heaven, Time. She frequently collaborates with composers to create new works that combine poetry and classical music and was a librettist for Yuval Sharon’s acclaimed opera Hopscotch.

Read more
Poetry

Ogden Nash

I think I’ve found my favorite poet of the week!  He’s the author of one of Gene Wilder’s best lines from Charlie & the Chocolate Factory:  “Candy is dandy but liquor is quicker.” Reading his poetry is like giving yourself a warm witty smile.  It’s somewhere in the vein of Shel Silverstein and Dr. Seuss, but much […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Performers, Personal Shit, Poetry

Nikol Hasler returns to A Rrose in a Prose tomorrow!

We’re very pleased to have a (long overdue!) return visit tomorrow from author, YouTube sensation, and expert pickler Nikol Hasler! Nikol Hasler used to get up to a lot of nonsense, but has aged and mellowed into a no-nonsense type of bird. Author of “Sex: An Uncensored Introduction” and mother of three, she pays her […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Gay and Lesbian stuff, Lit Events, Performers, Poetry

Bring your leftovers (and puns) to A Rrose in a Prose this Sunday!

Are you still in a food coma? Or maybe you’re sick of your extended family’s disapproval, mild racism, and vicious heartburn? Come join OUR literary family, and bring (and/or enjoy) some delicious eats! This Sunday’s A Rrose in a Prose is going to be a real “meat and greet,” a a chance to take “stock” […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Gay and Lesbian stuff, Lit Events, Los Angeles, Poems, Poetry

also at A Rrose in a Prose today: Corey Saucier!

We are so excited to bring a brand new face to today’s A Rrose in a Prose (among many new faces): Corey Saucier! Corey Saucier is a Lyrical Philosopher and a Black Queer Christian Poet, Author, and Playwright.  He is a Los Angeles Native and was a Lambda Literary Emerging LGBT Voices Fellow in Non-Fiction […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Lit Events, Literature, Los Angeles, Poetry

Trista Hurley-Waxali today at A Rrose in a Prose!

Another great author who will knock us OUT with her skill today is none other than the famous, the fabulous, the forthcoming-bookish Trista Hurley-Waxali! Trista Hurley-Waxali is the author of the poetry chapbook Dried Up. Her work has appeared in the journals FORTH, Enclave, and Street Line Critics, well as in the Procyon Short Story […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Poetry, Politics

New Rrose on Sunday: Nancy Lynée Woo

We’re excited to invite Nancy Lynée Woo to the A Rrose in a Prose stage Sunday, for the first time ever! Nancy Lynée Woo is a 2015 PEN Center USA Emerging Voices Fellow, and founding editor of social justice literary press Lucid Moose Lit. She is currently working on a collection of poems about her […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Obama, Performers, Personal Shit, Poetry

A Rrose in a Prose Literary Salon this Sunday: Your Heroes Are Dicks

When I was a teenager, I had a wonderful mentor who helped me tremendously in becoming the public speaker and champion of the logical alternative that I am today. But later, when I was an adult, I learned he was accused of “indiscretions” with a juvenile and fired from his job. Sound familiar?  Let’s not […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Fiction, Lit Events, Poetry

An A Rrose in a Prose first, this Sunday: F. Douglas Brown!

Just when you think that A Rrose in a Prose could devolve into a scuzzy place, full of identity thieves and clowns who forget to bring their makeup, we do something like this: book another great writer, class the place up, and even make sure to put the guy’s biography up before the show! F. […]

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Performers, Poetry, Punk, Satan's Favorite Bands, Shows, Songwriters, Zines

Legs McNeil and Gillian McCain coming to A Rrose in a Prose on August 16!

Gillian McCain and Legs McNeil are the co-authors of the internationally renowned Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk and the newly released Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose.

Read more
A Rrose in a Prose, Books, Fiction, Lit Events, Los Angeles, Performers, Poetry, Shows, Zines

August 16: A Rrose in a Prose, ZZyZx WriterZ, L.A. Zine Fest, Poetry Palooza @ Echo Park Rising: Just Good Enough

Think workshops, open mics, and other forms of collaborative art, all slated to happen right after our amazing features conclude, including a rare open mic. Be there at 2 p.m. to sign up!

Read more