Poetry

Ogden Nash

I think I’ve found my favorite poet of the week!  He’s the author of one of Gene Wilder’s best lines from Charlie & the Chocolate Factory:  “Candy is dandy but liquor is quicker.” Reading his poetry is like giving yourself a warm witty smile.  It’s somewhere in the vein of Shel Silverstein and Dr. Seuss, but much […]

Read more
Poems

“The State of Nature”

“The State of Nature”   Don’t trust the truster. Yet distrust disappoints in not disappointing. And we’re all humans, all men normal, all women wanting freedom. You can’t hoard freedom and be free. A philosopher’s slave once took this dictation: My freedom ends where your freedom begins. All are enemies, our only hopes. When we […]

Read more
Poems

“The Question”

I was at a great workshop regarding “the feminine” and femininity this weekend, and got several workable poems out of it. Here’s one.   “The Question” I was young. I loved. And so I didn’t ask. I was afraid you’d fear me, Or I’d fear your response. Now I am not young. And I do […]

Read more